Spare

When I found out that the theme for this week’s Photo Challenge is ‘spare’, I immediately thought of spare time. Perhaps this is because I’ve been sick and have had loads of spare time but no energy to make good use of it.

I have a long list of things that I like to do in my spare time.

For a start, I like walking, and as all my walking friends will tell you, rolling their eyes at how I delay them, I also like to stop and take lots of photos along the way. But no-one was around to be bothered when I snapped this view between the wires while walking on a hill top trail in California a couple of years ago.

20140125_094022-cali-bluff

I loved the spare — as in austere, minimalist — landscapes of the American West. I took this next pic from a coach on the highway through the Mojave desert.

20140130_114236-desert

So you may have guessed that another thing I like to do in my spare time is travel. Overseas is fun, but I think I love travelling in my own country the most. This next pic was taken on my road trip earlier this year. It’s a view from the Snowy Mountains Highway.

2016-01-31 14.53.01-high-country

In my spare time, I also like to listen to music — especially music that opens up spaces in my mind. The music of Malian musicians like Rokia Traore always evokes the open, serene, spare environments that I love.

I may have a lot of spare time on my hands soon. I’m taking a voluntary redundancy and leaving a job that I’ve loved, after many years. Although I feel sad about leaving, it’s not a bad thing. It opens up new possibilities, a chance to change direction.

2016-01-31 15.34.06-poplars-high-country

Of course, I’ll be busy looking for another job, cleaning my house (!), doing all those odd jobs I’ve been saving up, studying (Environmental Management is the plan) … but I’m sure I’ll be able to carve out some spare time for my list of things to do: walking, travelling, taking photos, reading, hanging out with friends and family, blogging, going to live music gigs, and of course, dancing.

What do you do with your spare time?

 

16 thoughts on “Spare

  1. Sorry to hear that you’ve been under the weather, Maamej. Winter is right on our doorstep here in Australia and it seems that everyone is getting sick. Stay warm and drink plenty of fluids.

    That is quite a few things there you like to do with your spare time. It looked like a peaceful hike there in California, and so did the coach ride. I never really find such long rides boring – the scenery outside usually is enough to entertain me and I can forget about the world. Like you, I like walking and hiking in my spare time. Nothing too physically exertive for me. Reading is also something I like to do when I’m free, and also sorting through photos I’ve taken and reliving memories at the same time. I would love to dance – maybe if we do meet at some point, you can show me a few moves 😀

    Good like for your future endeavours. Sounds like a job that brought a lot of good learning opportunities and great times. Have fun 🙂

    • Thanks Mabel, look forward to showing you some moves one day, though I’m sure you’ve got a few of your own 🙂

  2. Gorgeous photos Jill 🙂 i’ve always loved a lot space around me – deserts, the moorlands, out on the sea – which is definitely a ‘spare’ feeling – simple and free. Wow exciting news re old job/new life! Welcome to the world of the ‘mature aged student’ lol it’s great! I’ll be in Sydney next week from Wednesday til following Saturday week so let me know if there’s any activities we could join together on – the Refugee art & culture festival on the 18th sounds good….X

    • Thanks Anna 🙂 Yes it is exciting news – lots of change but I am flat out between now & the end of June competing projects & doing handovers. would be great to catch up, while you’re in Sydney, I’ll in-box you.

I'd love to know what you think, please leave a comment.

