Monday Music: African Blues

This week it’s five years since my middle brother (of 3) died of stomach cancer. A couple of years ago I wrote a series of blog posts on how much he influenced my taste in music. I also wrote a post about the music I chose for his funeral.

I’ve written quite a few posts about Mark, and about coming to terms with his death. I don’t always blog on anniversaries (like his birthday), but five years, well, that seems somehow significant.

When he was dying it was hard to imagine I would have to spend the rest of my life without him, but here I am five years on, and, although I’ve been feeling particularly sad this weekend, I’m ok.

So anyway, given music was so important to him, I was wondering what he’d be listening to if he was still alive. His favourite music was the Blues, so I decided that to observe this five year milestone I’d do a search on ‘African Blues’ and see what turned up. Here’s what I found.

African Blues by Majid Bekkas, from Morocco.

Félenko Féfé (not sure if that’s the name of the artist or the song and I can’t find out), but I think Mark would have liked the rawness of the vocals.

And finally, this lovely global compilation.

 

2 thoughts on “Monday Music: African Blues

I'd love to know what you think, please leave a comment.

