Inspired by the wind

In my part of the world, August is the windy month. The traditional custodians of the land recognised this by giving this period its own special name. Many other Aboriginal seasons span more than one month in the European calendar, but not August, which is the time of Wiritjiribin — Tugarah Gunya’marri (cold and windy) in the D’harawal Calendar.

wind-tree-currarong-2015-01-08 15.10.43This photo was taken at Currarong, just south of the Shoalhaven River, which marks the southern boundary of D’harawal country and the beginning of the lands of the Yuin nation. I couldn’t find a Yuin calendar, but I imagine the weather this close to D’harawal is not that much different. In any case, coastal lands around the globe are notoriously windy  regardless of season, and the wind sculpts both trees and stone.

sandstone cliffs eroded by the wind

It etches sand.

wind-sand-20150412_135127

And ushers in in a storm.

wind-storm-coogee-2015-03-01 15.44.23

I like the wind, although not when it whips up stinging sand on a beach, or when it brews into a cyclone. I find it exciting, invigorating.

Many people have found inspiration in the wind. Think of all the songs that mention it. In many of these songs, the wind is synonymous with powerlessness against intractable forces, such as the maelstrom of being famous.

Or obsession.

Sometimes the wind offers hope of prevailing against the odds.

And in a song that in many ways defined the social movements of the 1960s, the wind represents the fickleness of justice and the elusiveness of peace.

This is my favourite wind song.

I love this piece of music because it evokes the feelings of hope and excitement that I get on a windswept day in a beautiful place. It sounds like the wind and inspires me to dance as though the wind has lifted me into the sky.

Does the wind inspire you? Or maybe you have another wind song you’d like to share?


Inspired by two photo challenges today. See more posts about the wind here, and about inspiration here

 

11 thoughts on “Inspired by the wind

  1. Growing up, my mum always talked bad about the wind. When it was forecast to be windy, my mum always said to me be careful, the wind can blow you away and sometimes she warned me to stay at home if it was blowy outside. Of course, gale winds are not pleasant. Safety first.

    I actually really like the last song. Very uplifting and it feels like I’m soaring above the clouds, or walking outside on a sunny day with a bit of breeze in the air 🙂 The song sounds familiar to me, especially at the start. I’m certain I’ve heard it before but can’t remember where.

    All this wind talk sort of reminds me of the wind section of an orchestra. Just a thought.

    • Hi Mabel, interesting to hear about your mum being so cautious. I think people probably have more negative associations with wind than positive – I remember being told not to pull a face in case it got stuck that way when the wind changed.

      The last song is lovely. Apparently it was inspired by Enya’s Orinocco Flow and it is similar to that.

      I thought of wind instruments too but couldn’t quite figure out how to include them in the post, so thanks for mentioning them 🙂 All the different kinds of flutes, oboes etc. do make lovely windy sounds.

  2. From a practical point of view, I like the wind for clearing the pollution. But I’ve also experienced red dust storms caused by the combination of drought and wind. As with all things, moderation is the key. I wasn’t aware there was a special aboriginal season for the wind.

    • Yes, wind definitely brings the bad as well as the good 😦

      I think it’s not so much a season for the wind, as wind being part of what defines this season – like the flowering of certain plants & the behaviour of animals. Aboriginal seasons are often quite different to those imposed by the european calendar, but of course more in tune with what’s actually going on in the natural world at the time. I like to keep track of them, but unfortunately the info hasn’t been collected for a lot of places.

      • I’ve never understood why the seasons in Australia start on the 1st of the month, whereas elsewhere it is related to the moon/equinox.

      • probably cause the european seasons dont make much sense in Aus, so it doesnt matter when they start.
        China has a complex set of two-week calander names on the lunar cycle, sounds a bit like the wind season of the Yuin people. Most indigineous cultures have seasons which make sense – colonised countries follow their colonisers calanders, regardless if it makes sense or not.

        Coming from the tropics, ( Queensland) I never understood this four season business, until one day I visited friends in Canberra, and saw Autumn. What an eye-opener autumn was – all those pictures are true! Red and orange leaves all over the ground –

        but give me the tropics any day. Evergreen and vibrant colourful flowers all year round. 🙂

  3. That is so interesting to know that the original people’s had a name for August, the windy month. Where I grew up in Brisbane, August was always windy.
    My dad was a recreational fishermen, so he’d always put his finger up to the wind, then pronounce, that’s a sou’easter, or a sou’sou’easter…..

    I’m glad I stumbled into your blog. I look forward to reading more and learning more. Thank you.

I'd love to know what you think, please leave a comment.

