Weekly photo challenge: Adventure

“The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And whither then? I cannot say.”

Well, I think Tolkien said it all, really. But although that song is now familiar to millions of people, courtesy of the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings movies, I’ve had it in my head since I was a small girl. It encapsulates the sense of excitement, when you wonder what the next turn in the path will bring. I always want to go that little bit further; reluctant to turn back.

Here are some moments from various tracks I’ve taken in my life. Click on any picture for a slideshow.

You can find more responses to the adventure challenge here.

13 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Adventure

  1. Thanks Tina, I like that one a lot too. This challenge made me notice how many photos I take of roads and paths and stairways – seems to be a bit of a theme.

    • Thanks, yes I think the local kids have probably had quite a few adventures of their own in that building, judging by the graffiti. The stairs do beckon, but they end just out of sight. The lighthouse tower is gone.

  2. AS the other commentors have suggested, this is a great response to the challenge. Wandering and going down that unknown path always promises a sense of adventure – you can only see so much ahead of you. The footprints in the sand were beautifully captured, slightly shadowed at the bottom and gleaming sunlight at the top. A path I would like to walk 🙂

    • Thanks Mabel, I love your comment on the footprints. You’d have been even more impressed if my phone had been able to capture that the sand was actually sparkling in places! This is why I’m saving up for a proper camera.

  3. Some very nice images there MaameJ – love the twisted bushes beside the Charles Darwin walk.

    From a previous comment I see you’re looking for a proper camera – phone cameras are ‘proper’ in their own right. Every camera has its limitations and there are circumstances where a cellphone will do a better job than a very expensive SLR. Set yourself a budget, make a shortlist taking into account what type of camera you want (Compact, CSC or DSLR) then go to a good dealer and try each of them for feel in your hands – if you buy a camera you’re not comfortable to hold, you won’t use it. Hope this helps – Good hunting 🙂

    • Thanks 2e0mca – I’ve had the twisted bushes as wallpaper on my phone ever since I took the shot. Thanks for your camera-buying tips, & you are right that phone cameras are ‘proper’. I’m pretty happy with mine and it’s old – maybe all I need to do is upgrade. It’s certainly convenient, just slips into a pocket, which most good cameras don’t.

I'd love to know what you think, please leave a comment.

