Dooney’s fish stew for Aussie beginners, or, adventures in Nigerian cuisine

fish stew“WigBoy’s overseas, now would be a good time to cook that African fish curry recipe you shared on Facebook”, my workmate Cub said on Tuesday.

It was an opportunity not to be missed. Without delay, I messaged Sail, the 4th co-conspirator in the regular dinner catch-ups of a group of my work & ex-work colleagues.

“The (fish-hating) cat’s away, let’s play”, I said. “Nigerian fish stew at my place on Friday? Cub & I are cooking.”

The response was immediate.

“Yeah baby”, said Sail.

So last night, the three of us celebrated. As Cub summed it up: Beer + Curry + Friday = 🙂 (except in my case it was ginger cordial & soda water, but still definitely smiley).

Strictly speaking, I wouldn’t call it a curry. I’ve never heard the West Africans I know refer to their spicy stews as curries (although maybe some of them do), and it doesn’t have all the spices I associate with curry — relying instead on chillies, palm oil and fresh ingredients for the heat and flavour.

Here is the recipe, from the wonderful and mouth-watering Dooney’s Kitchen: Iye Gbuyi’s Fish Imoyo – ‘Obe Eja Tutu’

Dooney’s a Nigerian expat in the UK, “IT Project Manager by day, and a cook the rest of the time”, who is passionate about Nigerian food and dedicates all her spare time to cooking, catering, inventing fusion recipes, refining her kitchen techniques, and promoting Nigerian food to the world through her blog. She’s inspiring and fun.

However, if you’ve never cooked West African food before, you might find aspects of her recipe a little mystifying, so I thought that, drawing on my own experiences of Ghanaian cooking, I’d provide some explanation and Australian translation so you too can cook with confidence, West African style. Well, at least with more hope that it will turn out the way it’s meant to.

I’m not going to reproduce the whole recipe, because Dooney describes most of the techniques with clarity and enthusiasm. Anyway, it would be stealing. Think of this as filling in some small gaps.

First, the ingredients:

20140815_183710The fish

Dooney suggests ‘2 pieces’ of hake, which is apparently what’s known as gemfish in Australia. Unfortunately gemfish is on the red list in terms of sustainability. We used farmed barramundi, which is on the green list. It’s a pleasant white-fleshed fish that also happens to be native to Australia. Two medium-small fish cut into steaks (+ head) were enough for three of us, once Cub got over his aversion to eating the head. You can find other sustainable options in the Marine Conservation Society’s Sustainable Seafood Guide.

Tatashe

This is where it got a tad confusing. Tatashe is actually a species of chilli, but we got a bit side tracked into thinking perhaps it was what we know as banana pepper or perhaps even one of the smaller, sweeter, less spicy bell peppers. We ended up deciding to use a single red capsicum (not spicy), mainly because the only shop open nearby was Aldi and that was all they had. It worked fine. Next time I think we’d shop around for something more closely resembling tatashe, although perhaps with caution, because the recipe also calls for another variety of chilli …

20140815_144600

Palm oil at the back, orange habaneros centre.

Habanero …

…. which is apparently the third hottest chilli in the world. As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been growing habaneros for years because they are DadaK’s preferred chilli. They do have a lovely flavour as well as being very pretty to look at – orange and kind of squashed. When I first started growing habaneros they were hard to find in green grocers but they’re a bit more common now.

Cub and I decided we’d only use two, instead of the three the recipe calls for, because I don’t have a high tolerance for chilli (although it’s getting better), and Cub, although a big chilli fan, had traumatic memories of eating a whole raw habanero. Imagine our surprise, then, when they turned out to be not very hot at all … maybe because they were end of season & a little pale? Or perhaps because I had to grow them in a pot? Next time we will be more bold and use three (and probably scorch ourselves silly).

Palm Oil

Before you start to get alarmed, thinking … ‘Palm oil?! Isn’t that destroying rainforests and killing orang utans …?’ please check out my post on palm oil & sustainability. It’s a traditional food in Central and West Africa that’s, so far, not farmed on a damaging industrial scale.

In the comments on her recipe, Dooney reassures a reader that you can use ordinary vegetable oil instead of palm oil. It’s very generous of her but I’m sorry, I don’t agree. Palm oil addict that I am, I think this flavoursome orange oil is what makes the dish special, and it can’t be substituted with anything. In Sydney you can buy it at African food stores such as the International African Market near Newtown station. Make sure you buy the Ghanaian product, not the Malaysian one.

I asked Dooney how much to use and she said ‘two kitchen spoons’ – which I took to mean tablespoons, but then decided that wouldn’t be quite enough. I used a larger serving spoon to measure and I think it was just the right amount – you could taste the palm oil but it wasn’t overpowering. Not that I mind being overpowered by palm oil.

Seasoning cubes

Cub wasn’t keen to use an artificial flavouring like this but I argued for authenticity. We settled for one chicken stock cube, which I thought would add flavour without being too strong. To be totally authentic, it probably should have been Maggi ®, which appears to have a total monopoly on the condiment market in West Africa. You can also get prawn stock cubes from Asian stores, which might be a good choice, if used with great care. My son AM and I once ruined a dish by using too many.

20140815_183125The Method

Dooney doesn’t mention a crucial first step – perhaps because she’s writing for a familiar and mostly Nigerian audience that is used to West African cooking techniques. Although I guess you could figure it out anyway, from the pictures, this step is:

Roughly chop the tomatoes and blend them with the chillies and (in our case) chopped capsicum. This is the ‘blended pepper mix’ that you add at the beginning of step 2.

When I’ve cooked, or watched DadaK cooking, Ghanaian food, he usually boils these vegies before blending with the cooking water, but Dooney makes a point of saying in this case, blend them raw (and without any added water). I also chopped and added some of the onion to the blender, rather than frying all of it, because I’m used to it being part of the mix and I couldn’t help myself, I had to include it – I thought it would taste better with the onion infused into the mix this way.

They’re my only comments on the method. After that, Cub & I followed Dooney’s instructions faithfully, although there was a minor crisis when Sail rang the doorbell at the exact moment that I was helping Cub get into an apron (protecting his favourite shirt from potential palm oil splashes, it’s hard to get out of your clothes, once it gets in), and only seconds before the point at which the onions were ‘not quite burning’ and we had to add the blended pepper mix.

“Hi”, says me, flinging open the door to Sail, then rushing back to the kitchen without pausing for the usual hugs, air kisses and welcoming chit chat. “Sorry, you’ve arrived at a crucial moment!”

Thankfully, the onions were saved and the stew was not spoiled.

Serving

Although Dooney introduces her stew with a story about rice and stew, this imoyo is better eaten with other starches, as she says herself in the comments. So it was time for me to dust off my cooking skills for ‘solid starches’.

20140815_185527

Cover with water, cook for 15 minutes until the skins start to split.

I was hoping to be able to cook yams, which are in season at the moment … but sadly they were not available at the shop where I bought them last year, so I settled for green bananas (also known as plantains) and, because I was half expecting Cub’s partner and AM to be there for dinner as well, some cassava. You can buy cooking bananas and frozen cassava at Vietnamese grocery stores.

When it turned out that it was just going to be the three of us, I left the cassava in the freezer and called DadaK for a quick reminder on how long green bananas take to cook.

“Around fifteen minutes”, he tells me, “from the time you put the pot on the heat. You’ll see the skins start to crack and then they’re done. But … have you cooked them before ….?”

He pauses, his doubt in my culinary abilities oozing down the phone line.

Don't forget to scrape the bananas!

Don’t forget to scrape the bananas!

Yes, I assure him, it may be ten years (surely not!) but I do remember that after you’ve peeled the cooked bananas, you have to scrape off the fluffy surface with a knife, so they’re nice & smooth and lose that slightly acrid banana peel taste. He doesn’t sound convinced.

Starch, it turns out, is a bit of an issue for this meal.

Sail, nursing an Italian beer while Cub and I peer into the imoyo, trying to decide if there are ‘bits of palm oil floating around the pepper’ and it’s time to add the fish, wants to know what starch we’ll be consuming with the meal?

I lift the lid on the banana pot. Oh dear. Just as well I had the cassava back-up plan; Sail is allergic to bananas.

Lucky we found out in time to whip the cassava out of the freezer and into the pot. Cover with water, add salt, cook for 20 or so minutes, it’s all good.

Well, to be honest, DadaK would have disapproved of the final result — the cooking was a bit uneven. The cassava chunks ended up variegated, with fluffy translucent bits and white opaque bits — but Sail had no complaints. It was edible. And I’m not fussy. And I wanted the cassava to be on the table at the same time as the rest of the meal. Which it was.

If you can’t find cassava or green bananas, or don’t trust yourself to cook them, potatoes would be a reasonable substitute. I think the stew would also go very well with polenta. Or be adventurous and try out Dooney’s own suggestions for Nigerian starchy solids.

Traditionally this dish would be eaten by breaking off pieces of banana or cassava and with your right hand and dipping the chunks into the stew. I love eating that way, but Sail and Cub said they were comfortable with being ‘uptight white people’ and requested forks (although Cub soon resorted to fingers).

Making sure we have our greens.

Making sure we have our greens.

Greens, anyone?

Dooney mentions in the comments on her post that this dish would be nice with okra. Based on my Ghanaian food experience, I would briefly boil small okra pods in a small amount of water, to be served separately for diners to add to the dish.

There was no okra to be found at the shop, so Cub made an Iranian salad: tomato, Lebanese cucumber and finely chopped red onion with olive oil and salt. Yummy and refreshing.

So there you have it. Our Nigerian fish stew adventure. The barramundi imoyo was delicious, and we agreed we’d make it again any day.

We finished our evening with fruit salad and lots of laughter, and I went to bed with the rich, comforting aroma of palm oil stew still lingering to warm my dreams.

Oh … and, of course, the soundtrack

What else but classic Nigerian? Fela Kuti’s Zombie was an energising soundtrack for dancing around the kitchen; and chilled King Sunny Ade, perfect for relaxing at the dinner table.

20140815_193740

14 thoughts on “Dooney’s fish stew for Aussie beginners, or, adventures in Nigerian cuisine

  1. Maggi cubes! I love everything Maggi – the Maggi from Asia, not the Maggi you find in Woolworths or Coles. Didn’t know that Maggi was all the rage in Africa and it went well or can be part of food there. It is a bit hard to find yams in Australia, isn’t it? They do sell them at markets but you can’t be guaranteed a good yam unless you cut them up and have a look yourself.

    That fish stew looks amazing. If I was in your area I’d totally drop by 🙂

    • Yes, Maggi even gets a nod on cooking shows in Ghana, I think it’s seen as indispensable – mainly stock cubes but also something called arome that they put in fried rice.

      I love yams but usually I prefer other people to cook them for me, usually better results 😉

      Thanks for dropping by the blog, even if you can’t drop by for a meal.

      • Oh wow, Maggi is that famous in Ghana. I thought Maggi was popular in Asian countries. This is very interesting.

        I understand about cooking yams…my mum complains when she makes a yam meal from scratch. It’s always hard to get the yams just right – not too hard, not too soft 🙂 Always love reading what you blog, Maamej. Love stopping by when I can 🙂

      • Thanks Mabel, lovely to get your feedback. I’m curious to know how yams are eaten in Asia now. I’ve had taro in all kinds of interesting Asian dishes, like those lacy yum cha dumplings, not to mention milk tea – is it similar with yams?

      • I think the taro in milk tea are different from Asian-cooked yams. This fried yam ring is very commonly eaten in East-Asia and my family:

        http://neckredrecipes.blogspot.com.au/2007/06/crispy-fried-yam-ring-with-prawns-and.html

        My family also likes steaming the yams outright in a pot, usually with pork (I’m more a fan of chicken, though). To serve, we add some brown sauce.

        Then there is the very popular yam/taro cakes (google that). I like them a lot 🙂

  2. Oh, I loved reading this post, I have read it 3 times now. Thank you so very much for showcasing this recipe. I am sure you enjoyed it. I have a few questions though. Could you please explain what you meant by this statement, “However, if you’ve never cooked West African food before, you might find aspects of her recipe a little mystifying” because one of the goals of my blog is to make it accessible to people unfamiliar with West African cooking, so I would like some pointers please, so I can improve. Tatashe is red bell pepper. I am creating an encylocpaedia of some sorts of ingredients used in Nigerian cooking, with pictures and descriptions, so that may help for next time. I will start using the term serving spoons now. I can see how Kitchen spoons would confuse someone not used to Nigerian cooking. I will also be making it clearer about the blended pepper mix. It is truly amazing reading your post, because you have forced me to see how I write my recipes from the viewpoint of a non Nigerian

    • Thanks Dooney, thanks for visiting, I’m so glad you are happy with my post. I think your explanation was really good, it was just the lack of exact quantities might be a problem for inexperienced cooks, and also leaving out the method for the pepper mix. I think a listing of ingredients and techniques is an excellent idea, then you don’t have to keep repeating yourself in every recipe.

      With ingredients and quantities it can be a little confusing anyway for readers in other countries where we call things by different names or have slightly different measuring systems.

      I think you are inspirational & look forward to trying out more recipes.

I'd love to know what you think, please leave a comment.

